Beyond Compliance 2024

Digital Ethics in Research

[previous editions: 2023, 2022]

Research Ethics in the Digital Age

Call for Contributions

Budapest, 14-15 October 2024 and online

Submission deadline: 17 June  2024, noon
Notification of acceptance: July 10th, 2024. 
Accepted contributions should be presented on-site.

For the third edition of the Forum, co-organized by ERCIM, SZTAKI, and the CCNE-numérique, the program will consist of invited presentations, invited contributions to round tables, a tutorial session, and selected contributions based on the answers to this call. The program will be structured into six topical sessions focusing on ethical issues in digital research about Cultural Influences, Democracy, Regulation Making, Cooperative Agents, Digital Health, and Emerging Topics; and two sessions for a Tutorial and Selected Contributions. We invite the community to propose contributions in the form of short presentations. These can include case study reports, novel developments from research projects, policy recommendations, or proposals and hypotheses put forward for discussion.

Proposals are solicited as extended abstracts not exceeding two pages, in English, written using the Helvetica Neue 11pt font. These will undergo a lightweight review process by the workshop organizing committee, being evaluated for topical fit, and - depending on the type of submission - novelty of contribution, or perspective offered, or potential impact of contribution, or controversiality and potential for discussion. The selected contributions, possibly extended from the selected abstracts, will be published on the forum's web page.

Submissions should be made by emailing the extended abstract to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The organizing committee of the Beyond Compliance Forum is the Digital Ethics Task Group of ERCIM, currently composed of:
• Christos Alexakos (ISI/ATHENA RC, Greece)
• Emma Beauxis-Aussalet (VU, Netherlands)
• Gabriel David (INESC TEC, Portugal)
• Claude Kirchner (CCNE and Inria, France)
• Guenter Koch (AARIT, Austria, and Humboldt Cosmos Multiversity, Spain)
• Sylvain Petitjean (Inria, France)
• Andreas Rauber (TU Wien, Austria)
• Vera Sarkol (CWI, Netherlands)