ERCIM Symposium

Thursday 25 October 2012, at Inria, Sophia Antipolis, France

Participation is free but advance registration is required. Places are limited.


Topic Presenter
Morning session - joint ERCIM symposium & ERCIM ABCDE postdoc fellows' seminar
08:45 Welcome Gérard Giraudon
09:00 ERC Starting Grants Carlos Martín-Vide, European Research Council
09:30 ERC Starting Grant experience: "Traffic Management by Macroscopic Models" Paola Goatin, Inria
10:00 The People programme, from the end of FP7 to the beginning of H2020 Alan Craig, Research Executive Agency of the European Commission
10:30 Presentation by the 2012 Cor Baayen Award winner Speaker: Paweł Parys (University of Warsaw)
Location: Amphi Kahn
11:15 Break
11:45 Presentations from ABCDE Fellows Speakers:
- Luis Alberto Barrón Cedeño, SPARCIM (UPC)
- Scott Beveridge, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft - IDMT
- Michail Giannakos, NTNU
- Tatiana Polushina, NTNU
- Liudmila Rozanova, CNR - IIT
Location: Amphi Kahn
13:00 Lunch
Afternoon session - ERCIM symposium
14:00 Science panel - round table discussion
"Is cybersecurity a research job for computer science?"
This month is the European Cyber Security Month. Due to increasing cyber security problems (see also ERCIM News number 90: it will be discussed if research is really useful in this context.
  • Claude Kirchner, Inria
  • Jan van Leeuwen, Utrecht University
  • Matthias Jarke, ICT coordinator, Fraunhofer Gesellschaft
  • Michel Koenig, Polytech'Nice
Chair/Moderator: Jean-Jacques Quisquater
UCL - Université catholique de Louvain, ERCIM Science Task Group member
15:00 Stragey panel - round table discussion "The role and strategies of the European ICST Public Research Organisations towards Horizon2020" - The panel intends to address how the European public research organisation on ICST can contribute to the success of the Horizon2020 in its three strategic directions.
  • Keith Jeffery, President, ERCIM
  • Michel Cosnard, Inria CEO and Chairman, Inria
  • Jan van Leeuwen, Utrecht University, Chair of the European Forum for ICST
  • Jos Baeten, CEO, CWI
  • Matthias Jarke, ICT coordinator, Fraunhofer Gesellschaft
  • Olivier Da Costa, European Commission, Digital Futures Task Force, DG Connect
Domenico Laforenza, IIT-CNR, ERCIM, Vice President


Registration form

** mandatory, this information will be printed on your badge
* mandatory

  • **
  • **
  • (this information is required to grant access to the Inria campus)

  • **