The ERCIM Advisory Committee is set up to:

  • advise the ERCIM President and the ERCIM board on overall strategic directions in ICT and applied mathematics including the portfolio of Working Groups
  • evaluate Working Group performance in the process as defined by the Projects Task Group on a schedule defined by the Executive Committee and report to the Board of Directors
  • evaluate the final stage of selection of the Cor Baayen Award
  • comment on any ERCIM publications such as strategic reports for the European Commission as requested by the Board of Directors
  • propose changes to any aspect of the operation of ERCIM which is beneficial
  • undertake any other tasks requested of it by the Board of Directors.

The Advisory Committee reports to the President and hence to the Board of Directors.

The current members are:

Gérard BerryGérard Berry
Professor at Collège de France

Michael L. BrodieMichael L. Brodie
Computer Scientist

Wendy HallWendy Hall
Professor of Computer Science at the University of Southampton, UK; president of ACM

Erik SandewallErik Sandewall (Rapporteur)
Professor of Computer Science at Linköping University, Sweden

Mazin YousifMazin Yousif (Chair)
Royal Dutch Shell Global Account
Chief Technology Officer and Vice President of Architecture

Former members include:

  • Chris Horn, IONA Technologies, Ireland
  • Frank Kelly, Professor of the Mathematics of Systems in the University of Cambridge, UK
  • Kurt Mehlhorn, Director, Max Planck Institute for Informatics
  • Alexander "Lex" Schrijver, Mathematician at the Centre for Mathematics and Computer Science (CWI) and professor at the University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Ulrich Trottenberg, Fraunhofer-Institute for Algorithms and Scientific Computing (SCAI), Germany